Levels of Picture Engagement How Low Can You Go?

Some pictures we remember. Most we don’t. They go in one eye and out the other, to steal a phrase. Still fewer open our eyes and change our perceptions.

As an illustration professor, I’m often advocating for pictures that are more resonant. I’m looking for deeper images – ones that are more than a just a pretty picture. So to help make my point, I’ve been trying to picture how images can deliver more for the viewer. I tell my students, that the more you put into a picture, the more a viewer can take out. But I’m not talking about more details, or more complication. Confusion and exhaustion are not good ways to communicate. It’s what’s behind the image that counts – the depth – the layers of meaning.

Imagine that there are three levels of engagement that a picture can offer, and that the very best illustrations reach all three.

(Bob) Dylan by Milton Glaser, 1966